Zucchini-Apple Muffins

zucchini-muffins-with-honey.jpg

Today I had the opportunity to do a cooking demonstration at Williams Sonoma Columbus Circle. After years of going to that store and watching my food idols cooking from that very kitchen (Giada, Rachel Koo and more), I was able to live that today. Now by no means have I ‘made it’ but just getting to a point where I am up there teaching instead of sitting and watching is enough for me to be proud of and excited about. It was pretty cool looking back and seeing where this crazy journey has taken me and the opportunities that have come my way. I absolutely love my job! Now how many people can say that? I feel incredibly lucky!

img_4404

Ok enough with the mush… So today I joined Dr. Dina DiMaggio and Dr. Anthony Porto promote their book A Pediatricians Guide to Feeding Babies and Toddlers in front of real parents and babies at Columbus Circle. I wrote many kid friendly and Dr. approved recipes for the book and one of the four that I demonstrated was these Zucchini-Apple Muffins that I’m sharing with you all. These are a family favorite and SO healthy! Make a bunch and freeze for a quick and easy snack or breakfast. Plus it’s apple season so what better time to make apple muffins? Enjoy!

img_4392

Zucchini-Apple Muffins

 Makes 20 muffins

Good source of protein, fiber, calcium, iron, and vitamin A.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups zucchini, grated (about 1 medium zucchini)
  • 1 1/2 cups red apple, peeled, cored and grated (about 2 medium)
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Add ins: Chocolate chips, nuts, raisins, Craisins etc.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325oF.

Mix together the eggs, oil, honey, and apple sauce in a large bowl. Add in the grated apple and zucchini and mix until incorporated. In a separate medium bowl mix together the two flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Combine the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Fold in any add-ins of choice at this point and mix just until blended.

 

Line cupcake pans with 20 cupcake liners. Alternatively, place mini muffin liners in mini muffin tins for a smaller bite-size treat. Fill the liners three-fourths of the way up.  Bake for 25 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Let cool for 10 minutes.

Freeze up to two months

 

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

Comments are closed.